Our Team

Navigate: U.S. | Ethiopia | Uganda | Kenya | Rwanda

U.S. | University of Southern California

Principal Investigators

Jonathan Samet, M.D., M.S.Jonathan Samet, M.D., M.S.
Distinguished Professor and Flora L. Thornton Chair
Department of Preventive Medicine
Keck School of Medicine of USC
Director, USC Institute for Global Health
University of Southern California
jsamet@usc.edu

Kiros Berhane, Ph.D., MScKiros Berhane, Ph.D., MSc
Professor, Division of Biostatistics, Department of Preventive Medicine
Director, Graduate Programs in Biostatistics and Epidemiology
Keck School of Medicine of USC
University of Southern California
kiros@usc.edu

 

Co-Investigators

Heather Wipfli, Ph.D.Heather Wipfli, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Preventive Medicine & School of International Relations
Keck School of Medicine of USC
Associate Director, USC Institute for Global Health
University of Southern California
hwipfli@usc.edu

Frank Gilliland, M.D., Ph.D., MPH, M.S.Frank Gilliland, M.D., Ph.D., MPH, M.S.
Hastings Professor of Preventive Medicine
Division of Occupational and Environmental Health
Director, Southern California Environmental Health Sciences Center
Department of Preventive Medicine
Keck School of Medicine of USC
University of Southern California
gillilan@usc.edu

Scott Fruin, D.Env., P.E.Scott Fruin, D.Env., P.E.
Assistant Professor of Research
Division of Occupational and Environmental Health
Department of Preventive Medicine
Keck School of Medicine of USC
University of Southern California
fruin@usc.edu

Rob McConnell, M.D.Rob McConnell, M.D.
Professor of Preventive Medicine
Director, USC Tobacco Center of Regulatory Science
Director, Southern California Children’s Environmental Health Center
rmcconne@usc.edu

 

Screen Shot 2016-04-19 at 10.51.22 AMEdward (Ed) Avol, M.S.
Professor of Clinical
Department of Preventive Medicine
Keck School of Medicine of USC
University of Southern California
avol@usc.edu

 

Project Manager

Nivvy Hundal, MPHNivvy Hundal, MPH
Program Manager, USC Institute for Global Health
University of Southern California
nhundal@usc.edu

 

 

Research Associate

Kristin Dessie, MPHKristin Dessie, MPH
Research Associate, USC Institute for Global Health
University of Southern California
dessie@usc.edu

 

 

Communications Manager

Larissa Puro, MPWLarissa Puro, MPW
Communications Manager,USC Institute for Global Health
University of Southern California
puro@usc.edu

 

 

ETHIOPIA | Addis Ababa University

Principal Investigator

Abera Kumie Takele, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor & Head of Environmental and Occupational Sciences Department of Environmental and Occupational Sciences
Department of Preventive Medicine
School of Public Health
College of Health Sciences
Addis Ababa University

Co-Investigators

Worku Mekonnen Tefera, MPH
Lecturer
Department of Preventive Medicine
School of Public Health
College of Health Sciences
Addis Ababa University
workutefera2000@yahoo.com

 

Belay Birhanu Simane, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
College of Development Studies
Director, Institute of Environment and Development
Addis Ababa University
simaneb@yahoo.com

 

Getnet Kassie Mitike, M.D., Ph.D., MPH
Associate Professor
School of Public Health
College of Health Sciences
Addis Ababa University
getnetmk@gmail.com

 

Araya Asfaw, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
College of Natural and Computational Sciences
Addis Ababa University
Executive Director, Horn of Africa Regional Environmental Center and Network
Araya.asfaw@gmail.com

 

Alemayehu Yalew Worku, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Preventive Medicine
School of Public Health
College of Health Sciences
Addis Ababa University
alemayehuwy@yahoo.com

 

Wakgari Amente Deressa, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Epidemiology
Dean
School of Public Health
College of Health Sciences
Addis Ababa University
deressaw@gmail.com

UGANDA | Makerere University School of Public Health

Principal Investigator

Lynn Atuyambe, Ph.D.Lynn Atuyambe, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Community Health and Behavioral Science
College of Health Sciences
Makerere University
atuyambe@musph.ac.ug

 

Co-Investigators

William Bazeyo, M.D, M.Med., Ph.D.William Bazeyo, M.D, M.Med., Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Dean
Department of Disease Control and Environmental Health
School of Public Health
Makerere University
wbazeyo@musph.ac.ug

 

Samuel Etajak Ebuut, BEH, MPH

Samuel Etajak Ebuut, BEH, MPH

Research Fellow
Department of Disease Control and Environmental Health
School of Public Health
Makerere University

 

Felix Walyawula, B.Sc.Felix Walyawula, B.Sc.
Research Officer
Department of Disease Control and Environmental Health
School of Public Health
Makerere University

 

KENYA | University of Kabianga & Great Lakes University of Kisumu

Principal Investigator

Augustine Afullo, Ph.D., M.Sc., M.Sc.-WEM, M.Phil, B.Sc. Augustine Afullo, Ph.D., M.Sc., M.Sc.-WEM, M.Phil, B.Sc.
Associate Professor
Department of Environmental Health
University of Kabianga (Kericho, Kenya)

 

 

Co-Investigators

Samson Okongo Mabwoga, Ph.D., M.Sc., B.Sc.Samson Okongo Mabwoga, Ph.D., M.Sc., B.Sc.
Lecturer
Department of Environment, Forestry and Agriculture
School Of Tourism and Natural Resources Management
Maasai Mara University

 

Kevin J. Abidha Achola, M.Sc., B.Sc.Kevin J. Abidha Achola, M.Sc., B.Sc.
Environmental Epidemiologist & Lecturer
Department of Environmental Health
Great Lakes University of Kisumu

 

 

Christopher Cadillac Onyango, M.Sc., B.Sc.Christopher Cadillac Onyango, M.Sc., B.Sc.
Assistant Lecturer
Great Lakes University of Kisumu

 

 

 

Rwanda | University of Rwanda

Principal Investigator

Etienne Rugigana, Ph.D.
Lecturer & Head of Department
Epidemiology & Biostatistics
School of Public Health
University of Rwanda
steve.rugigana@gmail.com

Co-Investigators

Brenda Assimwe-Kateera, M.D., MPH
Director
Grants and Research Support Center
School of Public Health
University of Rwanda
bkateera@gmail.com

 

Frank Seka-Heka Gasana, M.Sc.
Lecturer & Head of Department
Environmental and Health Science
School of Public Health
University of Rwanda
fgasana@khi.ac.rw

 

Theoneste Ntakirutimana, Ph.D.
Lecturer
Environmental and Health Science
School of Public Health
University of Rwanda
tntaki@khi.ac.rw

global.health@usc.edu 9:30 a.m. PST - 5:30 p.m. PST
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close